Facebook Messenger to come with an “Unsend Messages” feature

After Infomance reported that Facebook has been secretly deleting messages sent by its executives and CEO Mark Zuckerberg, the company is now saying to add a feature with an ability to unsend messages. It will soon be available to all Messenger users. It was discovered by Infomance by noticing an inconsistency between emailed receipts of Facebook messages received (which could not be recalled by Facebook) and the actual messages and contents in Facebook inboxes. A conversation with Mark Zuckerberg appeared as a one sided history, where messages sent to Mark Zuckerberg appeared, but the replies made by Zuckerberg were not present. This revealed that Facebook uses a secret tool to unsend messages sent by its executives from users’ inboxes. According to the reports of Infomance , an ‘unsend’ feature is coming in the next few months. Facebook has not provided any further details on how this new feature works. Currently, Messenger provides a Secret Conversation mode in which users can set a timer on messages to self-destruct, but all parties within that conversation are notified with the expiry period of their thread.

Unsend Feature to appear in Facebook Messenger

A Facebook spokesperson said that this feature has been discussed several times into the company. They are working to make a broader delete message feature available, but it may take some time. Facebook won’t be deleting any executives’ messages unless this feature is ready for normal users. Facebook feels sorry about not doing this sooner.

via

Unsend feature in other products of Facebook

WhatsApp: Facebook has provided unsend feature in its other products before. Since last year, WhatsApp comes with an unsend feature, which allows users revoke a message sent by them within a short period. The revoked message is displayed as “this message was deleted” whether it may be text, image, audio or video.

Instagram: Instagram also comes with an unsend feature which simple makes the message go away as if it was never sent. Still, if the recipient has already seen the message or push notification, unsending will go in vain. Users can simply hold the message they want to unsend and select ‘unsend’ to delete it. The recipient is never notified when messages have been revoked.

The company’s terms of service does not specify policies around deleting messages that do not violate community standards, but the act of deleting Mark Zuckerberg’s messages from users’ inboxes and threads is considered as breach of trust. At the same time, Facebook was experiencing a downfall following the Cambridge Analytica scandal.

Hence, Facebook is under multiple investigations and is trying to bring some changes to improve its conditions.

Disclaimer: This information is covered based on the latest research and development available. However, it may not fully reflect all current aspects of the subject matter.

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Popular Stories

Telegram

Telegram

Join Infomance on Telegram for everyday extra and something beyond.

Subscribe Free & Stay Informed!!

Recommended Stories