Privacy Invasion! Stop Google and Facebook From Identifying Your Face

Identifying Your Face
via

Google and Facebook have been facing allegations that they invade into people’s privacy. The companies are working hard to implement AI to improve the experience. Identifying your face is like a cakewalk for AI nowadays.

The situation has only become worse. A report released by the New York Times stated that Clearview is an AI which can identify people’s faces. This happens every time when a picture gets uploaded into a device.

This AI works along with YouTube and Facebook which people use all the time. But you can prevent this and gain back control. You cannot assure yourself that you have stopped this completely.

This is because Google or Facebook did not build the AI system. There have been reports that ClearView managed to collect more than 3 billion images.

These images were not just from Google or Facebook but thousands of other websites. This is really terrifying to know the extent to which this has gone. Currently, a little higher than 600 law enforcement companies are using this.

Identifying Your Face Only becoming better

Identifying Your Face Only becoming better
via

These systems are becoming faster and better each day. Since we all have numerous pictures of us on the internet, the speed of detection has been increased.

There are several face recognition tools on Facebook and Google. They are already in place. All you have to do is to stare at it. It can also identify pets in your picture.

You have an option to turn off the face recognition tools. But you can save yourself from what is already there. Try googling your name online. There are chances that you will end up finding several photos of you over there.

Ever remember the old group photo you took in school? Your face can be recognized from something as simple as that.

Advantages and Disadvantages

Advantages and Disadvantages
via

It is scary when you realize how our privacy is no more. We live in an era of Social media. There are very high chances that your photo floats somewhere on the Internet.

If you participate in a revolt or a protest, the ClearView system can easily detect the faces. It can capture your photo from the site.

The system then compares your photo with all the photos saved in the database. Once a match gets identified, you can easily be caught and identified.

As much as it is scary, it can also be extremely useful at times. These tools can come in handy when you have to identify criminals and outlaws.

How to stop Facebook?

How to stop Facebook?
via

Facebook has an interesting tool which auto-tags people in photos. It identifies their name by accessing your friend list.

Here are the steps to turn it off if you want to:

  1. Open your web browser and Log-in to your Facebook account.
  2. Click on the arrow button on the top right corner.
  3. Click on Settings.
  4. Select Facial Recognition. You might not find it if your account does not have the feature.
  5. A notification pops up asking if you want Facebook to auto-detect faces in your photos.
  6. Click No.

How to stop Google Photos?

How to stop Google Photos?
via

Google Photos goes one step further. It can even group the photos which have the same faces. This feature of Google photos is named “Face Groups”.

It might come in handy and save you time. You don’t have to search hundreds of photos to find a photo with a person.

  1. You can turn it off by following these steps:
  2. Go to the link photos.google.com
  3. Select the menu which is there on the top left corner.
  4. Go to Settings.
  5. Select the option which says ‘Group Similar Photos’.
  6. There is an option which says ‘Help contacts recognise your face’.
  7. Turn it off.

Google Nest camera is not an exception

Google Nest camera is not an exception
via

Google’s Nest can detect faces which are familiar. An alarm goes off if an unfamiliar face is detected. But there is no guarantee that familiar faces should be safe. You can turn it off by following the following steps:

  1. Navigate to the Nest mobile application.
  2. Go to the Settings.
  3. Open ‘Familiar Faces’.
  4. Click on ‘Clear Library’.
  5. Turn off the options to prevent further detections.

Conclusion

The options provided above are not 100% foolproof. You cannot be assured that the devices will not invade your privacy anymore. There is only one way to do this.

You have to physically remove every picture of you from the web. Deactivate your social media accounts which you do not use anymore.

Consider keeping profile pictures which do not include real faces. It can at least improve the chances of keeping your photos in private.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here